Spacemen in My Backyard

Full Scorpio Moon
Full Scorpio Moon

Do you believe in synchronicity? I live by it. An example just occurred: After a very busy day and night, I returned home, ate a late dinner, and at 9:01 p.m., opened my email and saw an article from my local Patch newspaper. It said

“Look Up At 9:02 p.m. Wednesday:
It’s The International Space Station!”

I didn’t have enough time to read more; I called my entire family to come out to the back of the house, and we looked up. Directly overhead, a large, bright object, looking like an oversized planet, began gliding from the northwest, heading southeast toward an almost full moon. We knew without a doubt what it was. It took less than a minute for it to make its traverse, before fading into the bright orb of the large, partially risen moon.

After the ISS had passed, I came back into the house and followed the links in the article to the Universe Today (another WordPress blog–click the link to read it) from where you can link to an app to determine the exact trajectory of the ISS over your neighborhood. I learned a lot about the space station, excited to know that it is host to astronauts from 16 countries, performing all kinds of research in space, that it travels at an average speed of 17,227 miles per hour, at an altitude between 207 and 225 miles above the earth.  I also learned that it takes about 90 minutes to orbit the earth, and that you can see it circle up to three times in one day– it never takes the exact same path more than once, and is visible from any given spot on the earth once every 6 weeks. The cool part is that my family and I actually saw it!

And for those who are astrologically inclined, I got another interesting piece of information from another WordPress blog: Full Moon/Lunar Eclipse in Scorpio — April 25th, 2013, advising that a lot of recycling and re-ordering of love/relationship energy is favored. Growth, learning, and humility are all the order of the day.

There’s a lot going on up there.

Author: Writewireless

I am a thinker, educator, and writer, who teaches English, French, design, and career skills. My articles and posts about being human, teaching, careers, parenting, travel, and world affairs have been published in various newsletters, websites, and blogs. I currently teach and inspire young people to write and to explore the world.

1 thought on “Spacemen in My Backyard”

Leave a Reply

